Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Newbie: Older high-end vs. newer lower-end

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-18, 11:56 AM
roadcurious

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am sure this question has been asked before but I did some searches and couldn't find it. I am new to cycling and am looking to buy my first starter road bike.

Is there any general wisdom on whether to buy an older bike with higher end components or a newer bike with lower end. I'd like to spend between around $500-$600. Some of the options I've seen are:

2005-2011 higher end components - 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace
2012-2016 lower-end components - 105, Sora, Claris

Thanks!
Jason
Old 05-31-18, 12:06 PM
jwh20

Bikes: Felt Z5, Look 675 Light, Specialized Diverge

Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
I'd go with the older 105 or better group set vs. a newer Sora or Claris. While the feature sets do trickle down, I don't think Sora or Claris are as well built as the higher-end groupsets.
Old 05-31-18, 12:10 PM
Ogsarg

Bikes: 2019 Specialized Roubaix Comp Di2, 2009 Roubaix, early 90's Giant Iguana

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 647 Post(s)
Liked 1,569 Times in 562 Posts
If you are comfortable inspecting a used bike and plan to do most/all work yourself, I'd go used. If not, go new. You have the possibility of getting a better bike used, but you also have a risk of getting screwed. With a new bike, from a reputable shop, you can count on getting something that will serve you well until you lust for something better.