Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

New Member, Old Rider from Allentown

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-06, 05:50 PM
FritzWalker
Fritz Walker

Bikes: Trek 1800c (road), Diamondback Apex (mtn), Marin Sausilito (hybrid commuter), Santana tandem

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Greetings! I'm a chemist as a way to make a living, but mostly I consider myself a cyclist. Mostly road. Have been doing serious road riding for more than 25 years. Used to race in the mid-80's, though those days are behind me. Last year total mileage was just over 5k, which was down somewhat because of a lot of work-related travel. About half of that was commuting to and from work. I'm kind of passionate about the bicycle as a superior means of practical transportation -- partly for health reasons, but largely because it's just plain fun. Yes, I do get a lot of strange looks from the people I work with when I change into my cycling gear when it's dark, and cold out (like it will be when I get done posting this and head home), but that's half the fun. Not much of a mtn biker, but I bought one earlier this year, and am anxious to improve -- which should be pretty easy, considering how bad I am at it at this point.

I'm also becoming active as a bicyclie advocate in the community, and plan to devote more time to it as some other volunteer activities have come to an end.

I'm looking forward to exploring this forum, and will be seeking some advice on my next bike purchase.
Old 01-04-06, 06:15 PM
p8rider

Bikes: 1984 Peugeot P8; 2006 Trek 5200

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Welcome to the forums. You will find no shortage of good advice here from bike purchasing to riding, repair etc. Plus just some great comraderie.
Old 01-04-06, 07:07 PM
TCNJCyclist
Olé Olé Olé Olé T-C...N-J