Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Panasonic Schwinns vs. Panasonic's own brand

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-09, 05:36 PM
IceNine
El Duderino

Bikes: 84 Raleigh Portage, 83 Trek 620

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Question for those who know Panasonic bikes really well: How do the Panasonic Schwinn's compare to Panasonic's own branded bikes in the same time frame? Did Panasonic hold anything back when they were building for Schwinn and thus competing against themselves?

The reason I ask is that I used to work as a Japanese interpreter. In the mid-90s I had a gig involving the same company known as Panasonic. They were installing a new line to produce AA batteries for one of their primary competitors (who seemingly had no R&D of their own). It came out in a private discussion with the Japanese side that Panasonic was installing an older technology that was one-third as efficient as their own best line at that time. I don't think the American side even knew that they were getting the older crap.

Now obviously those are very different industries with not very many battery makers so the competition is more direct--you buy this one or one of those other 4-5 brands. The bicycle industry is much more fragmented, so the competition is not as direct for bicycle manufacturers.

But if Panasonic was selling less than their best to a competitor in another industry, do you think they did that when building for Schwinn? Panasonic is such a huge company with operations in so many industries that it may well be that different parts had a lot of autonomy, so perhaps there is no reason to assume any correlation.

Last edited by IceNine; 03-03-09 at 05:41 PM.
Old 03-03-09, 06:01 PM
due ruote 

Liked 531 Times in 323 Posts