Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

New to Mountain biking

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

New to Mountain biking

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-12, 01:30 PM
Jon_Ide2316
Newbie to Mountain Biking

Bikes: 2011 Giant Revel 0

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New to Mountain biking

Ok, so I will be getting my first ever mountain bike. I am very excited and can not wait to start on some local trails. My questions is about helmet selection. As I am new to the sport, I will be falling down, ALOT. I was thinking about getting a full face helmet. My main concern is people thinking I look like an idiot. The trails around my area are in no way black-diamond level. They can be technical, with lots of big rocks and steep descents. Any thoughts for the nube?
Old 03-05-12, 01:50 PM
papaish

Bikes: 2013 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp 29"

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First off, welcome to the best sport in the world. When I got back into mountain biking I started of with a nice light weight helmet for Giro. Did not want nothing to heavy or cumbersome that would limit what little ability I had, I would recommend the same for you. I have only fallen twice in the 500 miles I have been back in the saddle, and none of them was a head shot. Light weight, breathable and fairly inexpensive is what you should be looking for. Giro Rift, Giro Phase Mountain Helmet, Bell Influx Mountain Helmet, any of those are great for beginners. Besides, give yourself more credit, you have not even been on the bike and your already talking about crashing, confidence is key. Ride what you feel comfortable with not what you see others doing. Enjoy.
Old 03-05-12, 03:28 PM
ed 

Bikes: Hecklah

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)