Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

New guy, new bike, new experience...

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-13, 09:37 AM
RFord04

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum, though I have been lurking for about a month. A little over 2 months ago, I began riding a bike again for the first time since I turned 16 and got my drivers license (I'm 27 now), and I got started on my dads old walmart Schwinn Jaguar cruiser. I started losing a bit of weight before I started riding, as I was down from about 410 lb to about 390 lb. I'm about 6' tall, btw, so I'm definitely one of the heavier guys. My current weight is right around 350. So far, until today anyways, I've done nothing but paved bike trails and neighborhood/road riding... so there's my brief introduction.

I probably put between 150 and 200 miles on that Schwinn up until yesterday, when I got my new mountain bike. I spent a lot of time looking on the forums here, finding out what works and what doesn't for us larger fellas, and after a couple of different cheap entry level bikes that I've been looking at on craigslist fell through, I ended up getting a couple hundred dollars for my birthday a few days ago, and I just so happened to come across a great deal on craigslist. I picked up a 2009 Specialized Stumpjumper (Hardtail) for $535, and from what I've seen on craigslist over the last few weeks, no other bike has come close in terms of bang for the buck. It feels like I stepped up from a Buick to a Land Rover. Much less comfortable, but soooooo much more capable.