Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

How Much Capacity for S24O?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-15, 07:38 PM
Capt Overpacker
Carries Too Much Stuff!

Bikes: 2013 Trek Domane 4.5; 2014 Trek CrossRip LTD; 1987 Cannondale SR500

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm not new to cycling. But I am new to carrying more than a handlebar/trunk bag combo. Someone in my club is organizing an overnight ride with 50 miles each way. This is completely new to me. I haven't camped since I was a kid in the 1970's. A week of camping does not appeal to me. But I'm open to trying a simple overnighter. Perhaps it'll ignite something in my sense of adventure. I'm shopping to gear up for this ride. I'm partial to Arkel products since I already have their TailRider and handlebar bags. I like their Dolphin bags. But I have some concerns:

My Trek CrossRip has 43.5-cm chainstays (1-cm longer the Surly Crosscheck), 175mm cranks and I wear size 48 shoes. So I'm slightly concerned about heel strike if I go right for a large bag. An easy solution, I think, would be to buy the smaller bag (32L) which can be used on the front of the bike if I eventually opt to increase my load and do longer touring (I do not have a front rack today). But is 32L (1950 cu-in) enough to carry camping gear, food and clothes?