Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Triathlon
Reload this Page >

Advice on Tri bike and olympic Triathlon

Search
Notices
Triathlon Swim / Bike / Run your thing? Drop in our new triathlon forum for the latest in training & gear. From beginner to expert, and sprint to ironman.

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-11, 05:50 PM
LSUAnthony

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Ok so I am a newbie at Road/Tri bikes and even triathlons. I did my first sprint triathlon at the CB&I tri in the woodlands,tx and did about average hour and a half...now I have an olympic triathlon coming up in september and find my self struggling training for it, I am not sure why it just doesnt feel like I am getting anything done.

As for the bike, I do not have one but plan on purchasing one soon. I do not want a 1000-2700 dollar bike something more along the lines of 400-500 dollars. I look on craigslist and the local classifieds but dont want to get ripped off. Any suggestions on a good tri/road bike that will get me through triathlons? And i am not talking about ironmans and stuff like that, just simple bike rides with the occasional triathlon.

Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Anthony
Old 07-18-11, 09:15 PM
900aero

Bikes: Pinarello FPQuattro, Giant XTC 29er

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm going to approximate wildly here but here goes:

For the purpose & budget you outline, just get a regular roadie and then you can add clip-on aero bars if you want to get a TT riding position for longer races. This will be a much more versatile bike all round.
If you only want one bike, the Cervelo S1 is a bike which has the ability to be readily converted from roadie to TT by flipping the seat post around to make the seat tube angle steeper. These come with a pretty bullet-proof alloy frame and older models may be in your price range.