Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

What's the best helmet mounted mirror?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-09, 08:53 AM
rhm
multimodal commuter

Bikes: 1940s Fothergill, 1959 Allegro Special, 1963? Claud Butler Olympic Sprint, Lambert 'Clubman', 1974 Fuji "the Ace", 1976 Holdsworth 650b conversion rando bike, 1983 Trek 720 tourer, 1984 Counterpoint Opus II, 1993 Basso Gap, 2010 Downtube 8h, and...

Mentioned: 584 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1908 Post(s)
Liked 574 Times in 339 Posts

Let's not discuss whether helmet-mounted mirrors are any good, okay? I've been using them since 1979 and am a total believer.

But yesterday, when the mirror fell off the stick of my last 3rd Eye Mirror as I was crossing 5th Ave at 69th St, I decided that really was my last 3rd Eye Mirror. So... is there a good alternative?

My first helmet mirror was a single piece of wire that clamped itself to my Bell Biker helmet and had a round lucite mirror at one end. It outlasted two Bell Biker helmets and I still have it; it was indestructible! I'd still be using it, but doesn't fit modern helmets. The wire rarely got bent, but if it did, I just bent it back, and the mirror stayed in adjustment for months.