Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Future planning for E-bike touring

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-24, 03:15 PM
mams99

Bikes: Pedego Stretch 2016 (electric cargo bike for around town and grocery shopping, Small surly Ogre (2015), Bianchi Advantage (46cm) 1993, Bike Friday NWT, 2005

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 24 Posts

I just saw info on the new Salsa Confluence. I know it's just being release. There are no reviews on it yet, but it got me to thinking.

I have an electric cargo ebike that I have been using for 7 years and it's been so nice to use. I only use the assist when I need help and it is SO NICE to have that option. The downside to that bike for me is that it's soooooo heavy AND if I ever wanted to use it for like a bike tour for anything, it's nearly impossible to change the rear tire by oneself. So, It's my utility bike. For going on a rail-trail bike ride with the family I use my Surly Ogre.

Right now I can't do much riding because of being a full-time caregiver to my MIL with dementia AND helping my teen with autism with school. For MONTHS I've been just looking at options available for things like Ragbrai for a future year (I'm originally from Iowa) and I dream about doing that event once. AND I would like to do a BIG bike tour - maybe across the USA when I'm FREE for a bit of so much heavy duty caregiving.

I had just assumed I would use a regular bike, but with the advancements of e-bikes and even having the ability to carry an extra battery I don't understand why anyone would NOT use an ebike for longer tours.

One of the reasons too that I was avoiding really looking at e-bikes was the price tag, but now? It's not that big of a difference in price between a good touring bike and a decent e-bike.