Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recumbent
Reload this Page >

Embarrassing Question

Search
Notices
Recumbent What IS that thing?! Recumbents may be odd looking, but they have many advantages over a "wedgie" bicycle. Discuss the in's and out's recumbent lifestyle in the recumbent forum.

Embarrassing Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-16, 10:01 AM
rak330

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Embarrassing Question

I have a somewhat embarrassing question. I'm 68 years old and found out a couple of months ago that I've got prostate problems and the doc has forbid me from riding a standard bike. I have been investigating a recumbent Trike to move to, because the way the seating position looks as though you're not putting any pressure on the prostate area. Am I anywhere being right or not. If you have any experience or knowledge regarding the use of the recumbent please let me know. I really am disappointed staying off the bike after many years.
Thanks in Advance,
rich
Old 07-04-16, 12:43 PM
VegasTriker

Bikes: Catrike 700, Greenspeed GTO trike, , Linear LWB recumbent, Haluzak Horizon SWB recumbent, Balance 450 MTB, Cannondale SM800 Beast of the East

Liked 243 Times in 191 Posts
Don't be embarrassed by the question. It's a valid one. The seat on a trike will spread your weight over a large area rather than on a few square inches of bike seat that are just right to cause you problems. Find a dealer near you to test ride one and see how it works. Check out 'BentRider Online for lots of information on what is available and for reviews. I even bought my second of three trikes from a seller on that site. They have a recumbent dealer network listed there but it only includes shops that sponsor the site.