Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Ride reports? Boldly Go and a Tale of 2 apps

Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Ride reports? Boldly Go and a Tale of 2 apps

Old 02-26-20, 01:41 PM
  #1  
Hobbit712
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: God forsaken jungle of SW Florida
Posts: 51

Bikes: Gaint Rapid 2, Jamis Dragonslayer Pro, Raleigh C40

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Ride reports? Boldly Go and a Tale of 2 apps

I managed to get out this morning for a quick ride. I live in Florida so it's mostly flat. There is a rather nice ride called Boldly Go in the Carlton Preserve in Venice. Single track with a lot of switch backs. Not a lot of roots but flows nicely in a lot of areas. It was really fun for this newbie. I am also new to this forum and was wondering do other riders do ride reports? It seems like a fun way to share your rides and review some trails other might be interested in. I may be out of bounds here with forum norms. If so please let me know.

As for the 2 apps. I used both Strava and Map My Ride. Seems they map miles a little bit differently. Interesting since they are both likely using GPS. I guess I need to get a bike computer to be sure.

Anyone wanna share their ride today.



Hobbit712 is offline  
Likes For Hobbit712:
Old 02-27-20, 09:41 AM
  #2  
carlosponti
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 195

Bikes: '90 Raleigh Technium Prestige, '90 Fuji Thrill - Gone, '18 Fuji Nevada 1.7 29er, '19 Fezzari Abajo Peak

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked 30 Times in 21 Posts
I went through the same thing. Strava wasnt getting accurate mileage so i started running map my ride at the same time and was fine for a while. map my ride started not accurately recording and now i am just running strava by itself again.
carlosponti is offline  
Likes For carlosponti:
Old 02-27-20, 09:42 AM
  #3  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1702 Post(s)
Liked 437 Times in 282 Posts
A bike computer that syncs to Strava or MMR will be the most accurate.
prj71 is offline  
Likes For prj71:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.