Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

SPD vs SPD-SL pedals for newbie

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-13, 11:22 AM
tobefirst

Bikes: 2013 Novara Strada

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm picking up my very first road bike in a couple weeks and am trying my best to research and get the best deals and equipment while staying financially responsible. I'm a newbie; I haven't regularly ridden a bike in about 20 years, and definitely not a clipless pedaled bike. I live in the city, and that's primarily where I'll be riding, though hopefully I'll be able to get out to the suburbs occasionally. My biking goals are really just about fitness. I don't have any aspirations of winning races or anything...just getting my in shape and enjoying the biking thrill I remember from childhood. I'd like to get the best components I can afford right now, so I don't have the itch to upgrade so soon.

I was originally planning on going with Shimano's SH-R088 shoes and their PD-A530 SPD Dual Platform Bike Pedal, as I think I'd like to be able to wear my sneakers from time to time, especially while learning how to shift properly, ride in traffic, etc. I am also toying with the possibility of getting the SH-M088 mountain biking shoes as they would easier to walk on for times when I ride more casually.