Search
Notices
Northeast Connecticut | Maine | Massachusetts | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New York |Rhode Island | Vermont |

Bicycle tickets in NYC

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-23, 07:55 AM
amwso

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bicycle tickets in NYC

I received 4 tickets from NYPD in Manhattan for essentially the same incident: For going through a red light, but in line with the walk sign and to avoid cars turning at me. Furthermore, all the tickets said E-Bike, but I was riding a regular bicycle. Two of the tickets specifically said "Disobeying a red light on a bicycle with electric assist." Does anyone know if I can get these all dismissed off the bat because they labeled it as E-bike?
Old 03-29-23, 09:48 AM
Bald Paul

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 826 Post(s)
Liked 1,659 Times in 784 Posts
I'm not a lawyer, but I played one on TV once.

If you have the original receipt for your bicycle that shows it is NOT an e-bike, maybe. Of course, you may be asked to prove you don't own any other bikes. But hey, it's worth a shot.
Last time I went to court to fight a traffic ticket, the officer didn't bother to show up, and the ticket was dismissed.
Likes For Bald Paul:
Old 03-29-23, 09:52 AM
Clyde1820

Bikes: 1996 Trek 970 ZX Single Track 2x11

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 614 Post(s)
Liked 566 Times in 430 Posts
Originally Posted by amwso
I received 4 tickets from NYPD in Manhattan for essentially the same incident: For going through a red light, but ...
I'd think that's the real issue. Not the semantics about "e-bikes" (which are getting fairly prevalent but which aren't really the point).

Might be worth contesting, if you want. But I wouldn't bank on it flying, as the essential infraction's still there.
Old 03-29-23, 10:37 AM
blacknbluebikes 

Bikes: two blacks, a blue and a white.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked 847 Times in 410 Posts