Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Beginner needs training plan

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-09, 08:44 AM
fmvapp

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi,
I am a beginner and need some help with a training plan/nutrition plan. I want to do a 62 mile ride-Philly to Jersey Shore. It’s the ACS ride July 12th, 2009. I have been riding about 15 miles 3-4 times a week. Some weeks I don’t get to do that much because of the weather...it has been raining a lot. I am going to take a spin class in addition to my usual riding schedule. What kind of training plan do I need?? I have never done a ride this far...It will be my first time doing a ride like this. I also really need to lose weight before this ride..I am 5’4 and 200 pounds so I really need help with my nutrition plan as well. What should I eat before and after my workout-are sports drink any good-??
Old 04-06-09, 09:03 AM
late

Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Quoted: 12202 Post(s)
Liked 1,499 Times in 1,110 Posts
Hi,
limit mileage increases to about 10% a week, but right now adding 5 miles to the long ride should work.. I like to do a long ride on one Sat and then
a shorter, hilly ride the following Sat. It's good to mix things up.

You won't need sports drinks prob until June. I use enduralytes a lot.
https://www.hammernutrition.com/za/HN...0047&AMI=10104

There are lots of ways to diet, whatever works for you is good. What have you had luck with in the past.

You will likely be back here with questions about saddles, shorts and chamoi cream as the rides grow longer.

Last edited by late; 04-06-09 at 09:10 AM.
Old 04-06-09, 09:53 AM
palookabutt
pedo viejo

Bikes: Specialized Allez, Salsa Pistola

Quoted: 1 Post(s)