Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Training for First Time Racer?

Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-12, 10:33 AM
laserfj
Reasonably Slow...

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I just started cycling more recreationally in the last two months of last year. This coming summer, I want to try a few races (local road races or crits).

I've been reading lots of books on training and planning, and I've tried to check out all the info in this forum. Most of the books emphasize the idea of periodization during the year.

My question is--give that I'm a complete beginner (slow and weak), should I try to follow the periodization idea and do lots of base first, or should I start riding harder right from the start?

I know that at my level, I'll get improvement from whatever I do. I just want to maximize my gains for the time I put in.
Old 01-26-12, 11:14 AM
Doggus
half man - half sheep

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Read all of this.
Old 01-26-12, 11:40 AM
Fat Boy
Wheelsuck

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The sticky is very good. I would just add to not get too serious about training. You need to start building general cycling fitness. The common advice is 'ride lots'. It doesn't have to be fast or structured. If you want to ride on a certain day, ride. If you don't, don't. If you want to go hard, do that. If you don't, don't. Mostly just go out and enjoy riding.

Enjoying yourself is how you will maximize your time on the bike. If, after 5-10k miles, you still want to ride and race, then maybe get a coach and start some actual training. Until then, I wouldn't worry about it much.
Old 01-26-12, 11:52 AM