Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

"Float" or "Ground out" running wider tires on lower pressures?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-24, 01:50 PM
Scrib4lex

Bikes: Kuota Ksano

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 4 Posts

Anyone find that running lower pressures can lead to "ground outs," especially on the front rim? As my status correctly indicates, I am an actual newbie who is just learning how to do tire changes, cassette removals, mechanical shifter rewiring etc. I have always been a DIY guy and like older bikes that I can work on myself... I know the recent trend is pushing wider tire widths at lower pressures - and following in that, I recently made some changes to a bike I have - those changes led to some unexpected outcomes for me at least.

Background:
I started road cycling about 6 months ago (i mean I always rode bikes as a kid - but that was BMX with friends). I picked up a 2012 Tarmac Elite and was whipping around the local park paved roads on around 40 psi cause I just didnt know any better. Seemed fine tbh, but then about 3 weeks ago I hit a rather ugly bump doing around 22mph on a downhill curve and heard pretty unpleasant sound - at first I thought I might have cracked the carbon front fork. Luckily I did not.