Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Freewheel compatability

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Freewheel compatability

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-17, 08:32 AM
tlen

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Freewheel compatability

Hi all - I'm new to Bike Forums and joined in hopes of getting some expert technical input.

As a crazed project, I'm modifying a Mongoose Dolomite ($200, 50# Walmart fat-tire bike) to cruise around with my daughter as she learns to ride a bike. Yes it's a steel tube joke, but it's a perfect base to start playing with. My goal is to turn it into a fat tire-stingray-rat bike...

I'm looking to upgrade its stock Shimano 14-28t Tourney TX 7-speed (SIS Index) freewheel and it's accompanying derailleur/shifter mechanisms. After looking around, I've become partial to SRAM's X9 system (X9 Exact Actuation Trigger Shifter, X9 Rear Deraileur, and the PG-1070 10-speed freewheel cassette). My question is if the SRAM cassette is compatible with my hub (that fits the Shimano freewheel)?

I'm (currently) not looking to add a multi-sprocket crankset, so I'm only worried about the freewheel's thread size as well as the cassette's width. I've scoured the internet and not been able to find these dimensions. I'm presuming they are both standardized (as there are no specs readily available), but I wanted to be sure before I drop a couple hundred bucks on the parts.

Thanks in advance for any input you might be able to share!
Old 03-25-17, 08:39 AM
Senrab62 
It's the little things

Bikes: Too many, yet not enough

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked 326 Times in 147 Posts