Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Shifter - brake ID

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Shifter - brake ID

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-23, 08:40 AM
Cdubs

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 15 Posts
Shifter - brake ID

Hey everyone. I am fairly new to working on bikes and I am having trouble identifying these integrated shifter/brake mechanisms. I have them on two bikes. An old Raleigh Serengeti mountain bike and my commuter Raleigh Sentinel. The mountain bike has Shimano Tourney derailleurs and the Sentinal has Shimano Alivio. Both work so smooth and I am really enjoying them but looking to find service/maintenance info on them.
Old 05-26-23, 09:16 AM
dedhed
SE Wis

Bikes: '68 Raleigh Sprite, '02 Raleigh C500, '84 Raleigh Gran Prix, '91 Trek 400, 2013 Novara Randonee, 1990 Trek 970

Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Quoted: 2747 Post(s)
Liked 3,401 Times in 2,058 Posts
Look for a part # on it. to the effect of EF-500 or similar.

​​​​​​https://www.eriksbikeshop.com/shiman...BoCFisQAvD_BwE
Likes For dedhed:
Old 05-26-23, 09:47 AM
soyabean

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 540 Post(s)
Liked 416 Times in 274 Posts
Originally Posted by Cdubs
I am fairly new to working on bikes and I am having trouble identifying these integrated shifter/brake mechanisms.
Both work so smooth and I am really enjoying them
If someone can't find the mandatory part numbers stamped on all Shimano, it's only going to get harder and it is my suggestion is that they should continue enjoying them and leave all repairs to a LBS.