Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

Greetings and good morning from Jacksonville!

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-23, 07:29 AM
a1a

Bikes: Trek Domane AL3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 11 Posts

So much to say... where to begin.

I started riding, essentially for the first time, back in May of this year. On a whim really. I had been waking up early in the morning (like 3-4am early) and finally decided to do something useful... like go to the YMCA (which opens at 5am) and workout. To mix cardio in with weights I hopped on the treadmill and stationary bike. Next thing you know I see there's a local triathlon and figured I could swim the 400m, bike the 11 miles and run (ok... walk) the 5k. Purchased my first bike in 15 years (last one was a dept store special which fell apart after less than 100 miles) one week before the triathlon and I actually finished (last for my age group but I finished).

As of today I am close to 700 miles on my "new" bike and after repeatedly finding these forums for questions I have finally decided to register.

Gear... I spent way more than I wanted to on a bike but I am very happy with it. Trek Domane AL3. And holy cow do bikes get expensive... But for now I am focusing on the things which are free, or at least very inexpensive, to improve my riding times.

Things I have learned. In no particular order. And beyond obvious to even the casual rider.

Keeping my bike clean improves my time/speed. Including, but not limited to, the cassette, crankset/chainrings, brakes, etc.

Learning how to tune the bike derailleur makes for a quiet and more efficient ride.