Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

i need a RELIABLE cycle computer...

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-03, 08:50 PM
djgustashaw

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

i've been using a cateye velo2 for two years now, and it has been a real POS. it gives me all the readouts i need, which is to say just the basics like speed, average speed, distance, odometer, and time. however, it never works in the wet and it's been giving me some really weird calibration issues lately. it'll flip back and forth between 25mph and 5mph when i'm actually going around 20.

needless to say, i need something that i can really count on to work, and i dont need all the bells and whistles. the only "premium" feature i'd like to have is cadence, but i don't think you can get anything with that for cheap. but here's a few questions:

1. do wireless models work well in the rain? my velo2 is wired and it STILL doesn't work...

2. how's the shimano flightdeck? i'm interested in this one. also, how much does it cost, including installation?

3. do any cyclecomputers stand out as a great value?

4. i don't need heart rate.

i'd like to keep the price low, but i'm willing to pay up to $100 readily for something good. but remember, it HAS TO BE RELIABLE!! i gotta rely on this sucker to count every mile i pedal.
Old 06-21-03, 09:17 PM
mechBgon

Liked 6 Times in 5 Posts