Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Gravel bike sizing dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-23, 03:00 PM
brennan_mid

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gravel bike sizing dilemma

Hello,

I am new to gravel biking and I am in the market for a bike. I originate from a MTB background and I am quite familiar with geometry and my needs relative to the style and fit of a mountain bike but I am a little stuck when it comes to the gravel bike. I’m around 5,7/5,8 and I am sort of inbetween sizes on the particular bike I want (nukeproof digger rs) I am between a small and a medium. But I am leaning more towards a small to ensure a more upright riding position due to some recent lower back problems but the excessively small reach numbers on both sizes put me off abit. My main mtb has a reach of 460mm with a 50mm stem. And the small digger has a reach of 404mm which will then have a 60mm stem plus the drop bars. Does anyone have any experience with the sizing in regards to all of these elements or can tell me the reach/size they use relative to their height.

I would like to try the bike for size which would be the easiest option but unfortunately can’t do so.

all help and feedback is greatly appreciated
Old 11-14-23, 04:13 PM
Eric F 
Habitual User

Bikes: 2023 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2018 Trek Procaliber 9.9 RSL, 2018 Storck Fascenario.3 Platinum, 2003 Time VX Special Pro, 2001 Colnago VIP, 1999 Trek 9900 singlespeed, 1977 Nishiki ONP

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 4957 Post(s)
Liked 8,098 Times in 3,833 Posts