Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Total noob - worth building out?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-24, 02:19 PM
mams99

Bikes: Pedego Stretch 2016 (electric cargo bike for around town and grocery shopping, Small surly Ogre (2015), Bianchi Advantage (46cm) 1993, Bike Friday NWT, 2005

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked 44 Times in 24 Posts

I would love to have a bike that I can travel with. I've been toying with building a bike, but I don't know jack about it. I would be be more comfortable having someone build a bike for me or at least within a coop where we learn from building it (I know there is something like that near where I live). So, occasionally, I look around for a bike frame that is the right size and I found this.

The manufacturer is unknown. The people selling it are a nonprofit site that tries to get bikes back on the street, so they have done a good look over with the frame. But would I know if this would be a good frame to do a touring bike for someone who is 5'6" (short torso, long legs) and I like to sit comfortable (not stretched out) ton the bike. Bikes I currently own is a 1992 Bianchi advantage in 46 inch frame. I've maxed out the ability to make it taller, but as it is, it feels fit GREAT - even according to a bike fit, it's good fit. I have a Surly Ogre size small and I feel a bit stretched out on it, but it's OK (and it's zippy and fun to ride).