Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

A Midwestern Hello

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

A Midwestern Hello

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-23, 09:58 PM
ECBikes

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
A Midwestern Hello

Hello everyone,
I'm a college student from central Iowa, I've always enjoyed biking but only recently did I really find a love for it. My coworkers would talk all the time about their bikes and rides and I always wanted to be a part of that, but I rode a Walmart Mongoose and figured I was out of my depth. I broke that same Mongoose a few months back and decided maybe I should get a bit more serious. A friend of mine who I went to cycling classes most mornings with let me borrow an old bike from his parents, a Ross Eurosport 10 speed from sometime in the 80's as far as I can tell. It was in rough shape but I cleaned it up, replaced the shifter cables, and took apart and rebuilt the drive train. Working on the mechanics and learning more about the way it worked was unbelievably satisfying and I was hooked.
I bought my own vintage bike online, an old Cannondale in similarly poor shape, but I brought it home, cleaned it, rewrapped the bars, replaced the brakes and the saddle, and finally had myself something I was proud of. I did all that work and realized it was too small for me, but I was able to resell it and turn a nice profit.
But now the dilemma still stands, I'm a 6'4" guy primarily interested in road cycling and I have no idea what bike I should buy as my first "Grown-up" ride. Any suggestions? Thanks everyone, hoping to make this a hobby I can really fall in love with.
Likes For ECBikes:
Old 06-12-23, 10:30 PM
Polaris OBark
ignominious poltroon

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 2283 Post(s)
Liked 3,506 Times in 1,841 Posts