Search
Notices
Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Track workout for a noob

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-15, 07:50 PM
SpotOfBother

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Track workout for a noob

Hello,

I'm just getting into track cycling. I've been to 5 sessions at my local velodrome (Hellyer), and I've put together an inexpensive track bike. The sessions I've been to have mostly covered just the basics, so I've only ridden the track and done efforts in concert with other riders. I don't know what to do with myself without a track supervisor telling me when to pedal and when to stop. Tomorrow Hellyer has an unstructured session for intermediate riders, and I want to go.

As far as whether I'm a sprinter or endurance rider, I haven't picked a major yet. For now I just want to focus on pedaling fast, holding my line, and not being a hazard to others. I'd appreciate it if someone could post a basic workout that would take 2-3 hours to complete.

Thanks,
Spot

P.S. Sorry if this has been covered before. I couldn't find the magical combination of search terms that would yield a helpful answer
Old 04-09-15, 02:08 AM
Banchad

Bikes: Planet X Pro Carbon, Dolan FXE, Fuji Transonic

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SpotOfBother
Hello,