Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Things to lookout for in a commuter bike

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-21, 02:17 PM
Mbel3122

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I’m completely new to biking, but I’m moving to Minneapolis in August and thought that biking my 4 mile commute to work would be really great!

I’m looking for a good commuter bike. I was given a single speed Takara Kabuto from a sibling, but it might need ~$100+ in services and repairs (and frankly it just looks really silly).

I’m also considering a 1981 Trek 710 ($200) or Trek 1100 ($275) or buying new ($500+). The trek bikes might be the best option as I hear good things about them and both are in good condition, but being so new I honestly have no idea what to look for for casual commuter biking and aren’t sure of what to look for generally in used bikes. Any help is appreciated!
Old 06-01-21, 02:39 PM
pdlamb

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked 1,933 Times in 1,213 Posts
Let's break this process down a bit. Is your commute going to be flat or hilly? If you've got hills, you'll probably want gears, otherwise the single speed might work.

How are you going to carry things to work -- things like fresh clothes or shoes, lunch, or tools or files for work? If you don't mind a backpack, any bike can work. If you want to use panniers (bike bags), you may want to make sure the bike you use has mount points for a rack to carry the panniers.

Note that even a free bike doesn't stay that way. You'll have to replace tires, chains, and brake pads regularly. But even an expensive bike (say a $1,500 new bike) will be cheaper to operate than a car.
Likes For pdlamb:
Old 06-01-21, 03:12 PM