Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Rack for Motobecane Track

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-11, 12:48 AM
jpmagikx

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey all,

First, I am excited to be in these forums because I have just purchased a cool new bike that I know I will have a lot of fun riding. I am relatively new to biking (been going at it a few months), but only on a casual level (i.e. not racing or anything). In fact, bike-riding for me right now is purely for commuting purposes, but I'd like to make it into something I can really get joy out of too. Okay, secondly, if this is the wrong place to ask what I'm about to ask, please let me know, and I'll gladly ask it in the appropriate place.

Now, for my question. I have just purchased from BikesDirect.com a black Motobecane Track. I wanted to try fixed gear/single speed, as I never really used gears on my old bike, plus the Track is sleek, lightweight, and overall a cool-looking bike. I know that I perhaps shouldn't have gotten a track bike for my purposes (really just riding around in the city, to and from home, groceries, etc), but, now that I already have, I want to make the best of it. I feel that having a rack of some sort to carry my everyday belongings (backpack/bag and whatever else I happen to have with me) would be super useful.