Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Power Grips - What's Your Experience?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-08, 11:54 AM
Heathenix
year round commuter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been commuting for about 3 years, the last 2 year-round. I have a fair weather bike (lighter, thinner tires, more fun) and a foul weather bike (sturdier but heavier, thicker tires, infinitely safer on wet gravel roads). Neither bike is anything super-special, but they're not department store bikes either.

My question is this. Both my bikes have toe cages, but due to a fair bit of poor road surface (potholes, gravel) I don't strap in. Going down is never completely out of the question, and I am a firm believer in being able to get clear of the bike if that happens. I moved this summer, and now my commute, while only a little bit longer (22km RT), is a LOT hillier. So far, on my fair weather bike, this hasn't been a problem - in fact I like it as I have seen my fitness level increase and have lost a few pounds (although my SO complains that I eat *all* the leftovers and never leave any for him...). However I am not looking forward to switching to my winter bike - some of the hills are steep and long and riding a heavier bike up them is going to be a real schlep. So I was thinking of trying Power Grips - not as tricky to get out of as straps or clipless, but at least I'd be getting some power transfer on the upstroke.

I'd really like to hear what other riders have experienced with Power Grips - whether you like them, hate them, what they work for, what are their flaws - any feedback would really help.

Thanks!
Old 09-14-08, 11:58 AM
Cyclist0383
Banned

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post