Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Benotto 5000? Help for a newbie

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-21, 07:28 PM
Joeyflowers
Joeyflowers

Bikes: Benotto, Specialized Sirrus, Breezer Downtown, Virtue 6, Del Sol crusier

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Well shopping at one of my favorite thrift stores I saw a beautiful red Italian with chrome forks and stays that I just had to have. $40 and I brought her home. I'm a newbie so I need 10 posts before I can post any photographs. But this is what I've got. She's a Benotto with internal cabling and oval tubes. The BB has the heart cut out with an eye stamped in it. And then following numbers 5073 and B360 stamped on the other end. The front fork has a campy dropout but the rear dropouts have no markings at all. But here's the really weird thing. The component set is white Shimano sante which actually looks fantastic with the white Benotto lettering. I just thought it strange to have a Shimano group set like that. I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of that from Benotto? I'd love to find out if those components are original. If they aren't I'd love to get the bike back to original even though I love the way it looks. Right now I can't wait to clean her up and give her a ride. As soon as I get 10 posts I'd like to post some pictures of her. Any advice I would greatly appreciate. Thanks in advance!
Old 09-09-21, 10:04 PM
machinist42
mycocyclist

Bikes: 1964 Schwinn Paramount P-13 DeLuxe, 1964 Schwinn Sport Super Sport, 1972 Falcon San Remo, 1974 Maserati MT-1, 1974 Raleigh International, 1984 Lotus Odyssey, 198? Rossin Ghibli, 1990 LeMond Le Vanquer (sic), 1991 Specialized Allez Transition Pro, +

Mentioned: 23 Post(s)