Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Best Sub 1k SS?

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-09, 07:38 PM
MattofBostone

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Best Sub 1k SS?

Hello my friends,

So I've been biking for about 7 months now and I actually just did my first Century on Sunday! It was fun but I'm really ready to get back to riding for fun, not to train. I have a trek 2100 right now and I like it but I'm planning on trading it in for a single speed. The rides I do now are commuting to work (10 miles total) and 20-30 mile weekly group rides so I wouldn't have a problem doing those on a single speed.

What do you think it the best bike for under 1000? I've looked at the Langster, the single speed Felts, the SS Treks and god only knows what else. I'm just wondering what you guys would do if you were in my position.

Another random thing- I hate bikes with curved forks, I have no idea why but I'm just a hater lol. I suppose I could get over that though. Thanks guys!

Matt
Old 06-09-09, 07:43 PM
HandsomeRyan
Pants are for suckaz

Bikes: Hardtail MTB, Fixed gear, and Commuter bike

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bianchi San Jose. Straight fork (on the new ones) and you can put some big cushy tires in there along with a rack/fenders for commuting.
Old 06-09-09, 07:44 PM
PedallingATX
Comanche Racing

Bikes: Presto NJS build, Specialized Allez Pro w/ full Dura Ace and Ksyrium SLs, 1990something Specialized Sirrus

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jamis Sputnik

IRO Angus
Old 06-09-09, 07:49 PM
SSBully
HAMMER DOWN

Bikes: Sold '08 Jamis Coda Comp, building a Leader 720TR. I know, let the hating begin!

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by PedallingATX