Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Does everyone here use a torque wrench?

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Does everyone here use a torque wrench?

Old 03-31-17, 11:51 AM
  #1  
JBerman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 373

Bikes: Guru Evolo-R

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does everyone here use a torque wrench?

So after getting my bike yesterday, I realized I "needed" a torque wrench based on the internet since my bike is carbon, so I called the LBS and they had a few choices. I figured I needed at least a 4mm and 5mm to cover my stem, handlebars, seatpost, brakes, etc... It was either get a fixed Nm and fixed mm size, or go with a fixed Nm but use bits so I can use 4mm, 5mm etc in the same 5Nm, etc handles. I went with the latter as I had bits at home.

I knew everyone says if you have carbon you NEED one, but then I realized my stem and handlebars are alloy, so while I still plan on using it because the stem and handlebars still state torque spec, do others here always use torque wrenches, even on non-carbon parts? Which aspects are most important to not just tighten by hand, as in, do you guys always bring your torque wrenches with you on the road in case something loosens?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
torque wrench.jpg (97.4 KB, 333 views)
JBerman is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 11:54 AM
  #2  
GlennR
On Your Left
 
GlennR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Posts: 8,373

Bikes: Trek Emonda SLR, Sram eTap, Zipp 303

Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3004 Post(s)
Liked 2,433 Times in 1,187 Posts
If there's a torque spec, i use a torque wrench.

Just today I replace the seatpost on my CX bike with a carbon post. The seatpost clamp was marked 5mn and the saddle clamp was marked 12nm.
GlennR is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 11:59 AM
  #3  
JBerman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 373

Bikes: Guru Evolo-R

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My seatpost clamp doesn't show a torque spec, but wouldn't that be something that should since it's on the carbon frame? Or is there an implied amount of torque inherently for seatpost clamps (like yours, 5Nm)
JBerman is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 11:59 AM
  #4  
zymphad
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2,575

Bikes: Super Cheap gc3 approved Bike

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 521 Post(s)
Liked 19 Times in 12 Posts
AL is getting lighter and lighter. IMO modern AL frames and parts should be treated the same as carbon regarding torque. When in doubt for parts like handlebar, stem, seatpost, 5nm.
zymphad is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:01 PM
  #5  
JBerman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 373

Bikes: Guru Evolo-R

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by zymphad
AL is getting lighter and lighter. IMO modern AL frames and parts should be treated the same as carbon regarding torque. When in doubt for parts like handlebar, stem, seatpost, 5nm.

Okay awesome, thank you. I guess it's good I went with the 5Nm choice then!
JBerman is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:17 PM
  #6  
_ForceD_
Sr Member on Sr bikes
 
_ForceD_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Rhode Island (sometimes in SE Florida)
Posts: 2,278

Bikes: Several...from old junk to new all-carbon.

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 998 Post(s)
Liked 740 Times in 398 Posts
Depending on the component, nut/bolt/screw, or fastener...on my metal frames I don't always use the torque wrench. On my carbon fiber bike I do! And FWIW...when I first got the carbon bike I was searching around for info about torque tension for various attachments. I think with a bit of searching you would find torque recommendations from most companies/bikes.

Dan
_ForceD_ is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:18 PM
  #7  
indyfabz
Senior Member
 
indyfabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38,841
Mentioned: 210 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18224 Post(s)
Liked 15,020 Times in 7,107 Posts
I don't, so the answer to your question is no.


/thread
indyfabz is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:19 PM
  #8  
FBinNY 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Rochelle, NY
Posts: 38,418

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 138 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5638 Post(s)
Liked 2,263 Times in 1,270 Posts
No
__________________
FB
Chain-L site

An ounce of diagnosis is worth a pound of cure.

Just because I'm tired of arguing, doesn't mean you're right.

“One accurate measurement is worth a thousand expert opinions” - Adm Grace Murray Hopper - USN

WARNING, I'm from New York. Thin skinned people should maintain safe distance.
FBinNY is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:24 PM
  #9  
vinuneuro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NW Chicagoland
Posts: 784

Bikes: 2016 Diverge Expert

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 8 Posts
What amazes me as much as people not using torque wrenches on carbon parts is using cheap made in china ones with who knows what accuracy.

Get a quality calibrated torque wrench like Snap-On or CDI, store it correctly and pay the small fee to have it calibrated every few years. $100 for a good torque wrench is a drop in the bucket compared to what we pay for bikes and other related gear, and it'll last you a lifetime. The one I use is 20-150 inlb / 2.8-15.3 Nm.
vinuneuro is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:25 PM
  #10  
FlashBazbo
Chases Dogs for Sport
 
FlashBazbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,288
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked 141 Times in 94 Posts
I don't think carbon / metal has anything to do with it. In my pre-torque wrench days, I never broke a carbon part, but I broke plenty of aluminum.

I've broken more seatpost clamp bolts than anything else. Second place goes to stem / handlebar clamp bolts -- and at least one clamp/faceplate itself. I've broken water bottle holder screws and shattered one of the rivnuts that holds the water bottle holder screw in place. (Wow. I never realized how destructive I was!)

I use an adjustable value torque wrench with bit set. Everything that CAN be torqued to value IS torqued to value. (The Park Tools Blue Book has a list of most torque values in an appendix.)
FlashBazbo is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:35 PM
  #11  
Elvo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 369 Times in 206 Posts
I use this one:
https://www.amazon.com/2-10NM-Bicycl...+torque+wrench

It's kind of a pain to read the dial sometimes.
Elvo is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:37 PM
  #12  
FrontRanger
Senior Member
 
FrontRanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes on stem clamps, seatpost clamps, and crank arms. Other stuff, not so much.
FrontRanger is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:41 PM
  #13  
Slackerprince
Redefining Lazy
 
Slackerprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Metro, MN
Posts: 1,923

Bikes: 2013 Cannondale Synapse 5 105, 2013 Giant Escape 3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have this set:

Nashbar Torque Wrench


Not sure I "needed" it, but I wanted it and it was around $65. They've gone up a lot.

S
Slackerprince is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:46 PM
  #14  
prj71
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 4,582
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2955 Post(s)
Liked 1,146 Times in 752 Posts
Anyone have a bike torque wrench that goes up to 40nm? That's the spec required for my crank.
prj71 is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:53 PM
  #15  
joejack951
Senior Member
 
joejack951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 12,098

Bikes: 2016 Hong Fu FM-079-F, 1984 Trek 660, 2005 Iron Horse Warrior Expert, 2009 Pedal Force CX1, 2016 Islabikes Beinn 20 (son's)

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked 93 Times in 65 Posts
Originally Posted by prj71
Anyone have a bike torque wrench that goes up to 40nm? That's the spec required for my crank.
What is a 'bike torque wrench'? I have three torque wrenches (two SK: 3/8" and 1/2" drive, and one older Craftsman that I don't use any more) that can achieve that value but none are bike-specific.
joejack951 is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:55 PM
  #16  
Ogsarg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollister, CA (not the surf town)
Posts: 1,709

Bikes: 2019 Specialized Roubaix Comp Di2, 2009 Roubaix, early 90's Giant Iguana

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked 1,461 Times in 536 Posts
I recently bought a used Carbon Roubaix so I picked up a in-lb torque wrench to prevent overtightening things. From my experience so far, I didn't need it. The torque values specified on seatpost, seat, stem, are way higher than I would tighten if doing by hand.

There are some people that think you have to tighten things as tight as the tool and your strength will allow. If you are one of those, you need a torque wrench. I'll probably keep using it and set it at maybe half the max allowable.
Ogsarg is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:58 PM
  #17  
Jarrett2
Senior Member
 
Jarrett2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 4,126

Bikes: Steel 1x's

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
If I use a 5nm torque wrench on my steel bike, it says, "is that all you got, Nancy?"
Jarrett2 is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 12:58 PM
  #18  
RShantz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Never use one and never have had a problem
RShantz is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:10 PM
  #19  
PepeM
Senior Member
 
PepeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,861
Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2739 Post(s)
Liked 119 Times in 59 Posts
I own two torque wrenches. There are very few things I use them for though. Bike related the only thing I can think of was my power meter installation.
PepeM is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:11 PM
  #20  
JBerman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 373

Bikes: Guru Evolo-R

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by joejack951
What is a 'bike torque wrench'? I have three torque wrenches (two SK: 3/8" and 1/2" drive, and one older Craftsman that I don't use any more) that can achieve that value but none are bike-specific.
Yea, but how large are they? Do you carry them with you on rides in case stuff loosens?
JBerman is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:11 PM
  #21  
joejack951
Senior Member
 
joejack951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 12,098

Bikes: 2016 Hong Fu FM-079-F, 1984 Trek 660, 2005 Iron Horse Warrior Expert, 2009 Pedal Force CX1, 2016 Islabikes Beinn 20 (son's)

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked 93 Times in 65 Posts
Originally Posted by Jarrett2
If I use a 5nm torque wrench on my steel bike, it says, "is that all you got, Nancy?"
I used one of these on my steel bike:

It gave (bottom bracket fixed cup).
joejack951 is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:17 PM
  #22  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 8,556

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4675 Post(s)
Liked 1,508 Times in 983 Posts
Torque spec ratings are maximums for the bolts, not for the CF parts you may or may not be clamping to.
Your stem doesn't know what material your handlebar will be, your seatpost doesn't know if your saddle's rails will be CF, Ti or Alloy, etc..
That said, a torque wrench is good to avoid stripping the bolts, but in some instances the specced rating maybe too high for a given material/component that you're clamping.

And then you can open up the discussion as to whether the torque ratings are assuming the bolts are dry, or wet (ie. lubed)...
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:19 PM
  #23  
joejack951
Senior Member
 
joejack951's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 12,098

Bikes: 2016 Hong Fu FM-079-F, 1984 Trek 660, 2005 Iron Horse Warrior Expert, 2009 Pedal Force CX1, 2016 Islabikes Beinn 20 (son's)

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1240 Post(s)
Liked 93 Times in 65 Posts
Originally Posted by JBerman
Yea, but how large are they? Do you carry them with you on rides in case stuff loosens?
My 1/2" drive SK torque wrench doesn't even fix in my toolbox, let alone a jersey pocket. But when I need to torque something to 100-200+ ft. lbs. it's nice to have. I have never had a fastener loosen on a ride but for adjustments I get by with a mini-tool. Over the years I've gone from thinking torque specs on bike parts were what you *should* torque to to concluding that they really are just max torque values (which is what they are). What you should torque something to is tight enough to do the job.

For small bike fasteners, I trust my hands for that. I use a torque wrench for bottom brackets/cranks simply because the specified range is more than I'd typically tighten something that size and so I need the guidance.
joejack951 is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:25 PM
  #24  
JBerman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Inverness, FL
Posts: 373

Bikes: Guru Evolo-R

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by joejack951
Over the years I've gone from thinking torque specs on bike parts were what you *should* torque to to concluding that they really are just max torque values (which is what they are). What you should torque something to is tight enough to do the job.

This logic definitely makes sense. Does the piece of equipment shift/move? It's too loose. Tighten until it doesn't and nothing more.

Mostly I got it because in the event I did break something without it, I'd regret not having one. Even though the likelihood of that is slim.
JBerman is offline  
Old 03-31-17, 01:30 PM
  #25  
gabeham206
Senior Member
 
gabeham206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 63

Bikes: 2012 Tarmac, 2016 Emonda sl5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just got this one for my 2 carbon bikes. Even better is when they are 20% off. Spin Doctor Torque Wrench Set
gabeham206 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.