Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Classic & Vintage
Reload this Page >

Suntour LeTech rear Derailleur Replacement

Search
Notices
Classic & Vintage This forum is to discuss the many aspects of classic and vintage bicycles, including musclebikes, lightweights, middleweights, hi-wheelers, bone-shakers, safety bikes and much more.

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-23, 07:19 PM
Kaiju

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello again; So after reassembling my new/old bicycle I discovered how the rear spokes were damaged. My derailleur has a bit too much play side to side. I'm not sure that disassembly and reassembly would do much good. Other than that, can anyone shed light on a possible replacement with a newer derailleur or do I need to replace with the same? This is my first attempt at any bicycle restoration. The bicycle is a Centurion Pro Tour 15.

Last edited by Kaiju; 05-07-23 at 08:44 AM. Reason: additional info.
Old 05-07-23, 08:25 AM
Mr. 66

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Quoted: 1143 Post(s)
Liked 1,757 Times in 966 Posts
I think I would trash the old, it may or may not be good, can't tell without a pictures. Replace with the the same, sure if you can find but that's not critical to match. I think I would find something like a Cyclone 7000, or a long cage of Suntour type just in keeping with brand throughout the build.
Old 05-07-23, 08:46 AM
Kaiju

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Someone pointed out I was missing some info to determine the path I would take.

I have now friction shifters, would be easiest to keep them but willing to convert.

Running a triple chainring.

6 gears on rear cog.

23 teeth on largest rear wheel cog.

The derailleur looks to be mid to long cage. Distance between pulleys is 1-3/4" and 3-1/8" center to center.

Can"t post pics yet as I have less than ten posts.
Old 05-07-23, 09:28 AM
cyccommute 
Mad bike riding scientist