Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Help with my first fixed gear bike

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Help with my first fixed gear bike

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-22, 05:12 PM
Greiham

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help with a wobbly headset from my first fixed gear bike

Hello everyone, I have been biking for a couple of years now with a commuter bike, it was only this year that I have been addicted to it and when I got my trek fx hybrid, I fell in love with cycling. As I kept getting more and more knowledgeable about all kinds of bicycles and their cultures, I got into fixed-gear bikes. I sold my Trek fx 7.2 for a Canadian-based brand named xfixxi. Yesterday, I bought one used and it felt great to ride in single speed. I noticed that the handling is a little harder to control and thinking that I was just not used to a bullhorn handlebar I didn't think much of it until I heard a strange noise whenever I'm braking the front brake. Sure enough, it was the headset being loose. I adjusted it once and it was tight and does not wobble anymore, the problem is I adjusted it too tight. I couldn't properly control it so I went back inside and loosened the stem and tightened the top cap very carefully and slowly till I find that point where it was not wobbling anymore but I can still steer the bike. The problem is I can't find that point. Whenever it's not wobbling anymore it's too tight to steer, and when it's not too tight to steer the wobble comes back. Is it possible that the bearings are broken since the previous owner might have used the bike with a loose headset? I wanted to go to our local bike shop but they said inspection cost $60 and I simply cannot aff