Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

Road vs MTB pedals for gravel

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-24, 03:42 AM
lascabezas

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello , I am new to gravel and coming from the road. I am sure if I should keep my road pedals or not. What´s the better option for gravel? road vs mtb pedals
Old 03-02-24, 05:10 AM
dsaul

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked 800 Times in 475 Posts
If you plan to ride anything other than smooth gravel roads, go with MTB pedals. Most of the "gravel" events, in my area, involve some amount of singletrack to connect gravel road sections. It's not fun to try to clip into a one sided pedal on rocky/rooty singletrack. If you have to do any walking, you will quickly destroy a set of road cleats and road cleats do not offer any traction for off road hiking.
Old 03-02-24, 11:00 AM
justin1138

Bikes: yes...

Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked 85 Times in 17 Posts
mtb pedals
Likes For justin1138:
Old 03-02-24, 11:19 AM
Steve B.

Bikes: Flyxii FR322, Cannondale Topstone, Miyata City Liner, Specialized Chisel, Specialized Epic Evo

Quoted: 3242 Post(s)
Liked 2,087 Times in 1,182 Posts
If the gravel conditions get sketchy or really steep, you might be walking. Easier walking in SPD shoes. I use SPD on the road bike, so this is an easy choice.
Likes For Steve B.:
Old 03-02-24, 02:02 PM
MattoftheRocks

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked 31 Times in 23 Posts