Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Bad training days

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Bad training days

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-12, 08:10 PM
madsen

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bad training days

So I have been training for a 6 week tour for the last 3 months. I have posted before "Bikes too heavy" and " needing different gearing "
I am 62, 6' 1 & 1/2 "and weigh 240 lbs. I have a bike that weighs 38 lbs and have added 4 bags and 8 liters of water for weight during my training rides. The extra weight and bags were added on May 1st. The last 2 days I have just drug myself around on the bike with no energy and no reserve actually cutting the rides short both days. I am doing similar routes and mileage. The weight just feels like it has doubled. I am coming off a cold of 3 or 4 days in length but these last 2 days I have for the 1 st time begun to doubt my ability to actually do the tour.
Some history: I have run 2 marathons and done a 7 day 540 mile supported ride in the past so I have some idea about the ups and downs of training for long distance events. I also trained for but did not run an ultra marathon( finally figured out my body was not made to run those types of distances.
So that is my "whine ". I have decided to stay off the bike for 2 days even though the weather is going to be nice and just recoperate.
Any ideas about what I should do differently or what is going on or if this is just normal and i need to just "chill out " and quit the worry ?
Thanks for reading and your responses

John
Old 05-09-12, 08:32 PM
valygrl

Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts