Old 03-07-21, 07:25 AM
louventurini

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need advice!

Hello,

I've been cycling for a couple years around London with my fixed gear bike. Around South East London, its pretty hilly- I'm getting real tired of tackling those hills with one gear, so I've decided its time for a change.

Looking for a medium size frame road bike !!with gears!!!. Not sure where to look, I'm a bit of a noob and don't wanna get ripped off.

Price range I reckon 200? Maybe more if it's something super nice. Any help appreciated !!!
Old 03-11-21, 01:51 PM
Herzlos

Bikes: Way too many

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked 606 Times in 363 Posts
You're going to struggle to get a road bike for £200 unless it's 2nd hand. You may find something like a Carrera Zelos for £200ish, or have a look for any bike recycling charity places which are dotted about as they may be able to sort you something.
A cheaper option may be to get a flat bar hybrid purely because there's a lot bigger supply of them.

Decathlon do the RC100 road bike for £299 - https://www.decathlon.co.uk/p/rc-100...y/_/R-p-308047
It's a fairly basic 7 speed, does everything you need to though the shifter is on the top bar rather than the drops so you'd need to move your hand away to change but it's a step up from a fixie. The RC120 is a much nicer bike but it's also £429 so quite a jump in price; it gives you integrated brake/shifter leavers (pull to brake, left/right to shift) which means you don't need to lift your hands off, more gears and a lighter fork.

Even cheaper is the Apollo Paradox for £220* - https://www.halfords.com/bikes/road-...es-601204.html
It's got the same top bar shifter but is a 2x7 so will give you more range, but Apollo are definitely the budget range and a bit crap but it'll do and it certainly fits the budget.

If I was buying, my preference would be: RC120, Used bike, RC100, Paradox.