Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

What's your race, when's the next, how do you train?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-10, 10:10 PM
deadprez012

Bikes: Masi Vincere (2011); Diamondback Interval (1993); Miyata SSCX build (c. 1990)

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Perhaps I'm just trolling for information, but I love getting in the heads of other athletes, especially about the event that gets them going, the techniques they use to train in-season and off-season, how they cross train, etc.

So! What is your race of choice (and why, because I am very very new to road cycling and know next-to-nothing about racing), when is the next one or series of them, and please specify if you are in- or off-season and how you are training accordingly.

I'll start. I'm preparing for my first triathlon, because I've always been a multisport athlete, but as I've progressed from the structure of organized team sports to living my own life of fitness, I have developed preference for the practical skills of swimming, biking and running. My first is on September 12, and is a non-sanctioned sprint at 400m/12mi/2.5mi.

Tris are nearly year round here, so I'm technically always in-season. Still a really terrible swimmer, so learning to swim is my primary training, along with a hard, fast bike commute at high-intensity and med/high & low/med intervals for 17-20 miles 2x/month. My run training is just staying in running shape, because I'm pretty good at that.