Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

6 months with a powermeter - finding the avg speed is pretty darn good

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-13, 02:53 PM
hhnngg1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

I know firsthand of all the avg speed bashing on this forum. Conditions, wind, terrain, drafting, etc, which allegedly make avg speed MEANINGLESS.

I've been using a powermeter for the last 6 months both indoors and outdoors and it's been good stuff. Particularly for guiding indoor training (TrainerRoad), and as a recording tool for outdoor rides.

Reviewed my rides in the last 6 months (FTP + 20watts for real!) and found that the average speed metric is actually very good for me. Granted, I do mostly solo rides so I'm not drafting much, so as long as I have a rough elevation profile of the course in terms of total elevation, I can get a pretty good estimate of how avg speed compares. It's actually not bad at all.

Don't get me wrong - I'm not about to throw out my powermeter any time soon (love it) but there were surprising small issues that made it more complicated than just looking at your power number after you're done with a ride: