Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Am I kidding myself?

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-14, 10:11 PM
XXLHardrock

Bikes: Some old CL beater

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Am I kidding myself?

I live near Vancouver BC and have recently found the BC Randoneours, which seem to be a very active club, providing lots of opportunities for brevet riding.

Now I'm a novice and only have one bike, a 26" rigid hardtail with slicks, but I'm dreaming a bit about trying a 200K ride this summer. Not an ideal bike, but it's huge and the only bike I've ever ridden where I didn't feel like a bear riding a tricycle. 655 mm ETT just aren't all that common. So my question is: is it foolishness to attempt a ride like a 200K on a basic MTB? I realize the motor has a lot to do with the end result, but a person has to have something to work with as well. I'm sure I can do 200K in a day, but not sure about time constraints.

edit: the bike also has Surly Open Bars, but because the seat post is maxed out like a credit card, the bars are well below the seat. So I definitely don't have an upright position on the bike.

Last edited by XXLHardrock; 12-03-14 at 10:18 PM. Reason: Content.
Old 12-04-14, 12:22 AM
delcrossv

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Worth a go. Yu have about 13 hours to do a 200k. Folks have done them on worse.
Old 12-04-14, 12:28 AM
LWaB

Bikes: Early Cannondale tandem, '99 S&S Frezoni Audax, '65 Moulton Stowaway, '52 Claud Butler, TSR30, Brompton

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
As you are comfortable, you'll be fine. The minimum speed isn't super fast