Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Newbie perceptions on using Garmin device for routing and downloading directions

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Newbie perceptions on using Garmin device for routing and downloading directions

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-23, 05:58 PM
mev
bicycle tourist

Bikes: Trek 520, Lightfoot Ranger, Trek 4500

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked 264 Times in 178 Posts

I am not a newbie to touring - but have experimented more recently with creating and downloading routes to a device (Edge 540) and having it provide cues for turns.

Some background and context:
1. For most of the touring I do, I really don't need turn by turn directions. For much of my touring, there is a limited set of route choices - I check my map in the morning - note a few waypoints (sometimes only one if I am on the same US highway the entire day as happens in Western US).
2. I am eight days into a tour that started in Washington DC and so far has crossed a few large urban areas including:
- leaving Washington DC
- crossing Baltimore
- crossing Philadelphia
- Trenton NJ to Staten Island to Manhattan and out Long Island
While a more typical check the maps approach could work - I also figured this would be good situation to play around with these tools.
3. My general riding preferences:
- I am often looking for a relatively direct route and am willing to trade off some amount of "pleasant" riding. There is a boundary where things become unsafe so have to watch that but OK to be on sometimes busy roads.
- I definitely prefer paved routes even in comparison with crushed limestone paths
- Less climbing is better

Now, some experiences and things I've found and tried: