Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

New to Biking; Selection Help

Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

Old 10-18-21, 11:47 AM
biharris84

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey all,
I am new to biking and am starting to find myself overwhelmed by the number of options available in the hybrid category. I am nearly 6'4" and will be looking to ride on a combination of pavement, stone dust, and dirt pathways. My primary concern is finding a reliable bike that allows me the flexibility to grow and explore new options without needing to upgrade or purchase an additional bike in the near future.

I will also be towing my daughter behind in a Burley, so that is a consideration that I need to make as well. So far it looks like the options in my area is the Giant Escape 2 Disk, Trek FX 2, Jamis DXT or Allegro, Marin Lombard (although I don't think I'll like the drop bars) and the Felt Verza 50.

These all seem comparable and looking at reviews only gets me more sideways because they introduce new brands into the mix. Appreciate any guidance you all can provide.
Old 10-18-21, 01:26 PM
hokiefyd 

Bikes: More bikes than riders

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 1438 Post(s)
Liked 749 Times in 559 Posts
Hi, and welcome.