Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

novice question. tyre and capability

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-23, 02:52 PM
CrowSeph

Bikes: BMC SLR01; Cannondale Trail; Lot's of project and vintage bikes..

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked 168 Times in 101 Posts

Hello! I'm kinda new to the gravel, in the past i used a custom roadbike (vintage) frame to hold 35mm tires with a full drivetrain and parts from a vintage mtb.
The bike was definitely fun to use but then i decided to sell it for a many reason.

Now since then i have in mind something similar to do, another custom frame modified in the read dropout to hold even bigger tyre.
Let's say, on my mind i want to make something more in the direction of a monstercross than a gravel itself with a steel frame 1x10/11s setup and 650bx2,40.

A bike with those very fat tyre how would act in different terrain? with a smaller wheel and huge tyre would improve the driveability on the offroad section?
I don't care if will be slow on the road but i want something very capable off road, not even like a trail bike but definitely more like an aggressive xc.

is my idea right? or i'm going to regret the build soon or later?
Old 12-04-23, 07:29 PM
mstateglfr 
Sunshine

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 124 Post(s)
Quoted: 11048 Post(s)
Liked 7,596 Times in 4,236 Posts
Your idea could ride well or it could ride terribly. Who knows- geometry isn't mentioned and that is critical to know.