Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

New bike maintenance required

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-13, 06:13 PM
musicgalaxyman
Musicgalaxyman

Bikes: 2007 Kona Ute

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Well, I figured when I bought my 2007 new (old stock) Kona UTE that it being a high end service bike, that it would have been set up correctly.

I am a bit ashamed to admit that I was a pro bike mechanic, and certainly COULD have checked all out...but I didn't.

We had some deep snow here, so I decided to tear the bike apart and look at condition of all...here's what I learned about the quality of setup from factory and the "dealer."

Overall, the bike was in pretty good condition.

The HEADSET bearings had a bit of grease leftover, but benefited from a cleaning and regreasing. I normally would use marine grease on headsets, but went with some white lithium instead (because I had a tube handy.)

BOTTOM BRACKET is sealed, so no problems there.

BOLT TIGHTNESS CHECK, about 7 needed tightening a bit.

FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS: Now here's the surprise, these suckers were overtightened from factory, and I'd always wondered what effect this might have on bearings. I examined them
under glass and found the bearings were fine, so I repacked and good as new. But they were overtight from factory...and this was a bit of a surprise.

REAR WHEEL BEARINGS fine: no problem, just regreased and moved on.

PEDALS: These were very low end cage pedals and I've always wondered if they could be serviced. I went to a mechanic, he said, "I haven't a clue."