Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

Don't be an Idiot Like I was

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-11, 04:46 PM
CrashDarby

Bikes: Dahon Speed Uno (wrecked) Boardwalk S1 (broken)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello, I just wanted to share a story about a recent car accident I was in.

I'll preface the story by admitting that I didn't think I needed a helmet. I've been riding daily for over a year as part of my commute to work. I have two routes I usually go and on this day I changed my mind halfway. I started riding in the opposite direction of traffic and was coming across a cross walk. There was a car stopped at the cross walk intending to turn in the direction of traffic. Obviously the driver was concerned with having enough clearance to be able to turn, that he wasn't looking for me and we collided.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-M...1632709364.png

My bike took most of the impact and I rolled onto his hood and crashed into his windshield. I'm about 220 pound so the windshield shattered and cut the top of my head open in a couple spots. I ended up on the pavement and pretty quickly began to bleed heavily from the cuts. The driver called emergeny services, meanwhile I layed on the pavement processing what had just happened. I was ambulanced to the emergency room and given a few stitches for one of the larger cuts I had. Consequently I was issued a ticked by the police for my fault in the accident.