Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Student needs help choosing bike

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-08, 02:38 AM
piznal

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I am in the market to purchase a roadbike that will take me from my home to my campus. Being a student I do not have a lot of money to spend on a nice roadbike. I was doing some research and fell upon this bike from ebay.

https://cgi.ebay.com/58cm-Track-Fixed...QQcmdZViewItem

I would like to know if this bike is an okay buy at around $300.00. I currently attend UC Santa Barbara and there are nice bike paths for the student. I will probably be averaging around 10 miles a day. I just want an affordable road bike that will give me some experience before I go out a purchase a nicer frame. Thaks for your time.
Old 11-09-08, 02:40 AM
uke
it's easy if you let it.

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'd save a bit more and get this one. I ride it almost every day, and it's pretty sweet.
Old 11-09-08, 02:41 AM
kergin

Bikes: 1994 Proctor Townsend Reynolds 753, TT S3 True North, Kona Major Jake, Kona Honky Tonk, Marinoni Puima, Cannondale BBU

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
That bike is a piece of dirt. Opinion: look for a 1980's or newer sport touring road bike, as those are light enough to be enjoyable to ride and have practical points, like fender and rack eyelets and clearance for larger tires.