Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

90's Specialized Crossroads-3x7 to 11 speed?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-24, 03:22 PM
pontius

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey folks. I have this 90's Specialized Crossroads hybrid that I am messing with. I have been swapping stems and bars trying to perfect overall fit and am getting close to something I like that is comfortable. I was wondering if it would be easy and cheap to switch from a 3x7 to a 1x11 drive train? I was hoping I could simplify the drive train and still retain a pretty wide range of gearing for an all purpose or "gravel" sort of bike. i I really am a total novice concerning gearing, free hubs, cassettes, etc. I was hoping that I could simply change to a 10 or 11 speed cassette on this free hub and retain the 130mm spacing, and then pair it with a suitable rear dr and shifter. Is that possible? Here are a couple pics of what I'm dealing with. Thanks in advance for any advice on where start, what to read, etc.

Old 03-05-24, 03:36 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Quoted: 6196 Post(s)
Liked 4,810 Times in 3,318 Posts
First thing to do is measure the OLD of your hub or essentially the distance between the drops. If it is at least 130mm you definitely can put a 11 speed group on it easily enough. Flat bars will force you to use something other than a road group. Assuming you wish to keep most of the components you put on it from the same genre of group sets. If you don't, then you'll have to learn to look at spec's and compatibilities as 11 speed Road groups and other 11 speed groups have some things that don't work well together..