Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

First ride

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-24, 06:14 PM
Biker Pete 

Bikes: Kestrel Legend SL, Motobecane Grand Record

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 45 Posts
First ride

Wow, just fantastic! I just finished cleaning greasing updating upgrading my 1975 Motobecane Grand Record. I rode the bike for about 20 years, then it sat in the basement for about 25 years. Way back in the day, when I first got it, I had started ‘upgrading’ some of the components: Campagnolo seat post and pedals, Dura-Ace rear brake and levers. I was a poor student so it stopped there. Now, 49 years after purchasing the bike and thanks to eBay, I pretty much finished ‘upgrading’ with Campy brakes and levers, period correct wheels - Mavic Super Champion rims with large flange Campy hubs and double butted spokes, all new new cabling, and a new, waxed chain. Possibly might ‘upgrade’ the BB and crankset to Campy at some point, but could not get the drive side part of the BB off. So original TA crankset and BB for now. The very last step will be wrapping the bars with red cloth tape. Not sure how old the tires are, they are Seta Criterium 28 x 22 sew-ups. The lacquer on the cloth is a bit dry rotted, but the tires hold air just fine. Guessing latex tubes because they do drop a bit of pressure overnight.

Anywho, I pumped up the tires to 110 psi and did a couple mile spin around the block. Wow, absolutely sublime! A world apart from my 15 lb carbon everything Kestrel, but such a beautiful, satisfying ride!

Last edited by Biker Pete; 03-06-24 at 04:44 PM.
Old 03-04-24, 10:30 PM
zacster

Bikes: Kuota Kredo/Chorus, Trek 7000 commuter, Trek 8000 MTB and a few others

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked 464 Times in 365 Posts