Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Am I crazy to want disc brakes on my touring bike?

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-13, 04:31 PM
Curly1

Bikes: Stumpjumper-- I LOVE IT!!!

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm a mountain biker/snowbiker-- I want to get a road racing bike to help take my legs and lungs to another level; besides, I think I'd enjoy doing a few road races in the summer to motivate me. I'm in the $2500 to $4000 dollar range, but here's the thing, I really want disc brakes. I know this limits me and it brings the price way up but I feel like its the direction things are going and i gives so much better brake feel.

I'm new to this road biking thing so I'd love to get some feedback from those of you who have road experience.
Old 04-02-13, 04:41 PM
PDX Reborn

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, your not crazy, for wanting disc brakes on a touring rig. I to, have observed the shift to disc brakes on the newer touring bikes. $2500-$4000 is going to get you a really sweet bike. Post pics of the new ride when it arrives!
Old 04-02-13, 04:49 PM
pursuance

Bikes: Bicycles

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I gotta Trek DS 8.6 with hyd disc brakes, love it for an all around bike and will prolly install trekking bars soon.

But I am in the market for a road bike with discs.
Disc wheels are generally heavier but stronger than rim brake wheels and at 220# this matters.
Discs can be cleared of ice by riding the brakes, rim brakes can not in sub 0 weathers(wind chill).

There are some Volagi carbon fiber bikes 2012 that are discounted 30%, about $2700.
The BMC GF02 disc is another to consider at $2500.