Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Down to 8 miles, and scared

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-16, 06:31 PM
jeneralist 

Bikes: DOST Kope CVT e-bike; Bilenky Ti Tourlite

Liked 69 Times in 25 Posts

Hey all --

Those who started on this forum in the last year or two may not recognize me. I started riding in 2009, started posting in 2010, dropped 65+ pounds, and worked my way up from sucking wind on a flat 8 mile commute to doing centuries and building my vacations around touring.

Something happened one day at the end of December. I was at work, doing my normal work-day thing, and in the course of a few hours both of my knees -- my strong and steady adventure companions to that point -- both swelled up and made it clear they Did Not Want To Bend. Sitting down? A problem. Getting up again? A really big problem. Walking gave me an ache, and stairs became mountains, traversed one leg at a time, toddler-style.

I've seen my doctor and I'm going to physical therapy. The diagnosis I'm getting is that I've got a bit of arthritis in the knees -- normally not too big a problem -- but with enough swelling and inflammation that my quads are going on strike. Quads are important to stabilize the kneecap, and, of course, to pedal the bike!