Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

A Trucker's Perspective.

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

A Trucker's Perspective.

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-12, 06:29 AM
Chugosh

Bikes: Fuji S-12-S

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A Trucker's Perspective.

I am looking at getting on a bike again after a few years of not having one, and in looking around doing my researches found this forum. I have been given lot of good information so far. On this particular area of the forum, I thought it might be useful to have a look from the other end of the traffic spectrum.

I have been driving trucks for about eleven years. In that time, I have had a lot of encounters with all sort of traffic, including bicycles. Almost all of these have been entirely uneventful. Most of the time, both the cyclist and myself have operated our machines legally and safely. I would say that I have been frightened much more often by cars than by bikes.

I run daily from Woodland Washington to Tigard Oregon to get my load, then take the load a hundred miles east on I-84 to dump it, and then return to Woodland. Mostly I see commuters in the Tigard area and tour bikes out on I-84 in the Columbia River gorge. A lot of folks riding like they aught to. Usually out on the freeway, I give the riders an extra lane of room as I pass, assuming I am not being crowded myself. The freeway seems to have a decent shoulder most of the way, so even if crowded, it is not too bad, I hope. In town, I am more than happy to give the bike the lane where there is a question.

For the sake of your lives, don't pass me on the right when I am aiming to turn! I simply cannot see you in my blind spot.

I am happy to answer any questions in my power.
Old 06-14-12, 06:46 AM
hagen2456