Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Flip Flop Hubs

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-24, 01:46 AM
Hussnain Subhan

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flip Flop Hubs

Hi Everyone... Saw a flip flop hub in a bike i had kept in my store for some time ...its my first time seeing one ...whats the actual purpose of the fixed cogs on one side of the hub ... Like are these useful in any ways ...
Old 05-04-24, 12:26 PM
mrv 
buy my bikes

Bikes: my very own customized GUNNAR CrossHairs

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 527 Post(s)
Liked 449 Times in 253 Posts
The purpose is to have a fixed gear on one side and a free wheel on another.

The reason I set up my Surly that way is sometimes riding downhill fixed can wear a person out!

On a hilly ride I have the option to do a 2 minute wheel flip and I can coast the downhills… probably faster than two… but not trying to brag or anything…😏

Last edited by mrv; 05-05-24 at 11:15 AM.
Old 05-04-24, 12:37 PM
RCMoeur 
Cantilever believer

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked 1,958 Times in 881 Posts
Riding a fixed gear instead of freewheel serves multiple functions, in that it doesn't allow you to coast. The bike moves, the legs move.
If you have any minor imbalances or odd movements in your pedaling, it can point them out for correction.
If you have a tendency to "bounce" at high cadence, it can point this out.
It can help you develop the ability to be smooth at a wide range of cadences.
It can help develop a more fluid and "rounded" pedaling style.
It makes you mindful of your riding, in that forgetting you can't coast can activate "ejection seat" mode.
You can get really good at trackstanding.